Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

What is Kentucky Youth Soccer

Mission Statement

Promote and Grow Soccer in Kentucky

Vision Statement

Any child in Kentucky who wants to play soccer has the opportunity in a safe and positive environment.

What is Kentucky Youth Soccer?

Kentucky Youth Soccer is a Kentucky non-profit, 501 (c) (3) Tax Exempt Corporation devoted to promoting youth soccer in the Commonwealth of Kentucky. Kentucky Youth Soccer represents over 40,000 youth players, 6,000 active coaches, and thousands of volunteers through its network of over 83 local member associations across the state of Kentucky.  Its leadership is comprised of a volunteer Board of Directors who represents all parts of the state and the organization currently has a professional staff of seven employees working out of the State Office in Lexington.  

Membership in Kentucky Youth Soccer also brings with it membership in the United States Soccer Federation (USSF) and US Youth Soccer.  US Youth Soccer develops and promotes youth soccer in all 50 states and currently has over 3,000,000 youth soccer players. USSF is the governing body of soccer in the United States, as recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the International Olympic Committee that develops soccer at all levels, youth and adult, amateur and professional.
Founded in 1979 by John Gompper of Burlington, KY, Kentucky Youth Soccer was created to unite all youth soccer programs through the Commonwealth by affiliation and self – government to enhance youth development through state programs. Kentucky Youth Soccer offers programs for ages and abilities.   

Past and Current Presidents

John Gompper (1979 - 1984)
Jim Elliott (1984 - 1986)
Chuck Long (1986 - 1993)
Samuel Hayward (1993 - 1994)
Perry Alexander (1994 - 2003)
Tim Turney (2003 - 2015)
Regina Martin (2015 - 2017)

Bob Drake (2017-Present)